Foundation Board

A 22-member board of directors governs the San Bernardino Valley College Foundation.

Executive Committee

Dr. Dennis Byas
Educator, Retired
Foundation President


Ms. Beverly Powell

Marketing and Community Relations
Foundation Vice President


Dr. Scott Thayer
SBVC President
Foundation Secretary



Mr. Scott Stark
SBVC VP of Administrative Services
Foundation Treasurer


Dr. Susan Bangasser
SBVC Faculty, Retired

Mr. John Echevarria
Community Affairs Sergeant, San Bernardino Police Department

Mr. Robert Garcia
SBVC Alum & United States Air Force, Retired

Mr. Scott Henderson
Community Business Owner

Ms. Allynn Jackson
Administrative Office, San Bernardino City Unified School District

Mr. Gary Kelly
SBVC Faculty, Retired

Mr. Kenneth Lane, M.D. 
Kaiser Permanente, Retired

Mr. Justin R. Martinez
Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch

Mr. Kerry E. Neal
Director of Development, California State University, San Bernardino

Ms. Patricia Nickols-Butler
Nonprofit Director

Mr. Robert O'Brine
Deputy Chief, San Bernardino County Sheriffs Department

Ms. Shelby Obershaw
Educator, Retired

Ms. Lisa Obershaw Durham
Educator, San Bernardino City Unified School District

Mr. Joseph Paulino
Chief of Police, San Bernardino City Unified School District

Mr. Thomas Robles
City of Colton Community Serives Department

Mr. George San Martin
Think Wise Credit Union

Mr. Michael Sola 
SBVC Head Athletic Trainer, Retired

Honorable Lawrence Stirling
San Diego Superior Court, Retired

Mr. Dexter Thomas
Police Captain, Retired

Dr. Anne L. Viricel
President, San Bernardino Community College District Board of Trustees


Ex-Officio Directors                                                                

Mr. Paul Bratulin
SBVC Campus Director, Marketing, Creative Services & Public Affairs

Ms. Davena Burns-Peters
SBVC Academic Senate President

Mr. Paul Del Rosario                                                                                                                         SBVC Associated Student Goverment President

Mr. Mike Layne
SBVC Executive Director, Development and Community Relations

Ms. Aryiana Martinez                                                                                                                       SBVC Associated Student Government Executive Vice President

Ms. Diana Z. Rodriguez
Chancellor, San Bernardino Community College District